The distinctive factory building of Weverij de Ploeg in Bergeijk was designed by Gerrit Rietveld and started operating in 1958. The complex is located in the Ploegpark, which was designed by landscape architect Mien Ruys.
The distinctive factory building of Weverij de Ploeg in Bergeijk was designed by Gerrit Rietveld and started operating in 1958. The building was designed in accordance with the ideals of De Ploeg, and had to offer an optimal working climate, in harmony with the woodland environment surrounding it. As of the beginning of 2017, the building has been commissioned by Bruns, an interior design project management company focusing on museums and exhibitions worldwide. The factory building is characterized by its eight characteristic curved shed roofs; four longer and four shorter sheds. They are made of pre-stressed concrete (built with the then state-of-the-are Zeiss-Dywidag system) and are only 7 inches thick. The very light and pronounced design calls for a interior that allows the focus to remain on the building and those inside it. The office space is fully furnished with the Boring program; 70 electrically adjustable desks, acoustic cabinets, bins and acoustic panels. Complemented with some classics from the Lensvelt collection (such as the Job Cabinet and the recently acquired Rietveld Military Series) and elements of designer Aart van Asseldonk, this design represents a true tribute to the rich history of Weverij de Ploeg and Rietveld.
For the canteen, a series of tables and chairs designed by Aart van Asseldonk, which is called ‘de Ploeg’, are currently being developed to be launched later this year.
Architects: Aart van Asseldonk, www.aartvanasseldonk.com
Photographer: Jan Willem Kaldenbach, Gijs Spierings